Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Spencer Hawes has knee surgery
TalkBulls Forums > Nothing But Net > Bulls Talk
Balta1701-B
Well...once again, I may have to admit...Pax might well have known a few things I didn't.
Rather than prepare for tonight's exhibition opener against his hometown Sonics at ARCO Arena, Spencer Hawes is preparing for arthroscopic surgery on his left knee on Wednesday, which could end his rookie NBA season before it begins.

The best-case scenario for the Sacramento Kings' center is a two to four weeks' recovery, but given his history with knee problems, the Kings are unsure when he would be able to play. Hawes has had at least four procedures, including at least two scopes on the left knee.

"He will be evaluated after the first procedure," Kings spokesman Darrin May said in a telephone interview this morning. "I can't tell you how long he'll be out because I'm not a doctor. All I know is he's having arthroscopic surgery performed tomorrow and we'll take it from there."

Seahawks team physician Dr. Lawerence Holland, who has operated on Hawes in the past, will perform the surgery in Seattle.

Taken 10th overall in the draft, the 7-foot Hawes, 19, has been vague about his knee problems during his one-year with the Washington Huskies and while he was a standout at Seattle Prep. He told reporters in Sacramento that he underwent microfracture surgery when he was 14.

It's believed he had at least one procedure on his knee in high school and last year before the Husky season. The fear of another surgery may have prompted him to enter the draft with three years of eligibility remaining.

"He's a good kid and everyone here still feels good about taking him," May said.

Hawes has not practiced in training camp since twisting his knee Sept. 27 during a conditioning drill. He underwent two MRIs, which revealed loose cartilage.